Sunday, February 13, 2011

introducing the new vlga board

It was wonderful to learn that I'd been successfully elected as the new VLGA President for 2011-2012. I was first elected to the board in 2009 as Treasurer, I'm delighted to see this time round I'm being joined by four previous board members and four new members. Four of the nine board members are women, which is terrific, along with a good mix of age groups too.

The new board contains strong skills in local govenance, community involvement, academia and policy development as well as media and legal experience. The mix of board members will bring diverse perspectives to the table, which augers well for the organisation.

I look forward to continuing the good work of past board, led by president, Cr Heinz Kreutz, and will be an energetic and strong voice advocating for progressive social change on behalf of VLGA members.

The VLGA Board:

Cr Samantha Dunn, Shire of Yarra Ranges
Board members:
Richard Brown, community member
Cr John Doull, City of Greater Geelong
Cr Luba Grigorovitch, City of Hobsons Bay
Cr Heinz Kreutz, City of Boroondara
Dr Clare Mouat, community member
Cr Christine Richards, City of Frankston
Cr Collin Ross, Cardinia Shire Council
Bill Penrose, community member

Executive positions of Vice President (x2) and Treasurer will be determined at the first meeting of the Board.

Labels: ,


Post a Comment

<< Home

eXTReMe Tracker