Wednesday, December 10, 2008

a mention in parliament...

Local government: Greens councillors
Speech by Sue Pennicuik MLC
December 4th, 2008

Ms PENNICUIK (Southern Metropolitan) -- Today I congratulate the 19 Greens councillors who were elected or re-elected in 15 local government areas at the state-wide local government elections last Saturday. They are Geraldine Brooks in the City of Brimbank; Lynette Keleher in the City of Casey; Stephen Hart in Colac Otway shire; Trent McCarthy in the City of Darebin; Neil Pilling in the City of Glen Eira; Cathy Oke in the City of Melbourne; Rose Iser in the City of Moonee Valley; Jo Connellan and Toby Archer in the City of Moreland; Philip Schier in Mount Alexander shire; John Middleton in the City of Port Phillip; Lloyd Davies in the Borough of Queenscliffe; Simon Northeast in the Surf Coast shire; Helen Harris and Bill Pemberton in the City of Whitehorse; Sam Gaylard, Amanda Stone and Alison Clarke in the City of Yarra; and Cr Samantha Dunn who was re-elected with 54 per cent of the primary vote in Yarra Ranges shire. The election of these local councillors increases the number of Greens in local government by one-third. I would also like to thank those Greens councillors who either did not stand for re-election or were not re-elected for their dedication and hard work in their communities during their terms as local councillors.
Authorised by Sue Pennicuik, Parliament House Melbourne.
Me and Sue Pennicuik pictured celebrating 100 years of the vote for Victorian Women at the recent Greens State Conference.

Labels: ,


Post a Comment

<< Home

eXTReMe Tracker